Enchantment of 4-hour work week leaves time for more

by Chris Wendel

4 Hour work weekSelf-help books have always been a quandary for me. I seldom buy wholeheartedly into anything that someone is pushing. I’ll keep my distance and glean what I can, but other than college football and an occasional Bon Jovi concert, I’m not into the herd mentality. That cautious curiosity has served me well along the way, and I’m proud to say that well into my 40’s, I’m still alive and I’ve yet to get wrapped up in any income devouring pyramid schemes.

With that as a backdrop, I offer up the book “The 4-Hour Workweek” with the tag line: “Escape the 9-5, live anywhere, and join the new rich”. Written by Timothy Ferriss, a 30 year old entrepreneur who among other things has been a world-record holder in tango (how this is achieved is yet to be revealed), a national champion in Chinese kickboxing, and an actor on a hit TV series in Hong Kong.

Credentials aside, Ferriss’ book offers a laundry list of ways to streamline one’s life and outsource the ancillary parts that inhibit productivity. Some of the techniques border on outlandish, while others were compelling to try out on my own.

For example, Ferriss advocates limiting email reading to two times a day, cutting out time wasting web surfing, listening to nothing but music, reading fiction (or Ferriss’ book), mixed in with a maximum of one hour of daily television. It’s my understanding that the idea here is to cut out the useless bombardment of messages and information that deter us from the true creative abilities that we possess.

About a week ago I decided to put some of the book’s parables into action. I had some crucial work deadlines and my attention span was waning. I stopped cold turkey with the web surfing (unless it was essential for work), and watched only one hour a day of daily TV (no news or sports). I have listened mostly to classical music in the car, and limited my reading to a daily hour or so to fiction.

The process of switching off the nonsense was easier than I had anticipated, and also very freeing. I have more time to spend on impactful undistracted conversations, and my ability to zone in on pressing projects has increased dramatically. I’m still working on checking my email only at 12 PM and 4 PM, and when I’m not distracted by email, I realize how more useful my time can be.

Having said this, there is still plenty of territory to explore with “The 4-Hour Workweek”. I’m not saying that I’ve totally drunk the Kool-aid, but with more of Ferriss’ techniques to pursue, I’m still holding on to the hope of pairing down my work week. Four hours? I’m not sure, but tomorrow I’m checking out personal assistants in India that can attend to my more mundane chores. Hopefully then I’ll have newly acquired the hours to actually finish the book. How much I buy into it after that remains to be seen.

This entry was posted in Partner Resources, Resources, SBTDC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Enchantment of 4-hour work week leaves time for more

  1. Peter Wendel says:

    Chris, When you loaned me ‘The Four Hour…’ in the summer of 2008 I was VERY dubious about the title and the promise. But it was summer vacation, I had time to read and I opened up the book. I found the concept more interesting every page I read – I got sucked in!

    It now is my most important books – especially because I have a special interest: Succession Plannning and making the transitioo ftom work the what I call ;The Third Phase of Life.’ That’s is the focus of my cosulting work

    It especially helped me better coach my clients in finding new avenues to explore when they begin to think about their personal transition.

    ‘Four Hour’ is a multi-faceted book that has ‘something for everybody.’ I highly recommend it.

    Pete Wendel (Yes, Chris’s dad!)
    www. peterwendelgroup.com

Leave a Reply

